Basset Hound Accessibility

My boss/coworker/friend has two elderly basset hounds that have difficulty navigating stairs due to arthritis, previous back surgeries, and general old age. So, he and his wife requested that I build a couple of ramps and some stairs. The couple asked that the ramps not be too steep and that they blend into the home environment.

I used birch plywood and little strips of trim to make the foot grips. Since my boss wanted the ramp to be pretty, I put these trim strips on the edges of the plywood also. My boss painted the ramp himself, sparing me from that detail (as I’ve mentioned before, I loathe finishing work).

Here is a picture of the ramp. I’m still working on the stairs and the second ramp.

dog ramp

 

Leave a Reply

